3.49 GPA Aerospace Engineer in Defense Currently

Graduated from a lower semi-target (top 45) with a 3.49 GPA in Aerospace Engineering, was heavily involved in extracurriculars both social and technical, several leadership positions in university, no internships but got a job at a top defense contractor as an engineer (where I’ve been working for last 6 months). I like it somewhat but I always wanted to get into business and only wanted to do technical work in engineering for a couple years.

Do I have a chance to break into IB? Would they value my experience and degree in engineering?

Was thinking about getting a MBA in a couple years at a semi-target (top 20) school in the area.

Also considering saying fuck it and getting into software engineering currently learning Machine Learning and pretty proficient in Python. I just want a client facing role and would like to get into banking.

Most Helpful

Once you have 1-5 (~3 ideally) years of experience as an engineer in ADG, you could get into an ADG-focused IB or PE firm after a good MBA. That would be a pretty typical engineering to finance path to switching and saw people do exactly this to get into ADG-focused firms in the D.C. area. You could take the GMAT this spring and start applying in the Fall for Fall 2025 admission if you really want to. You could skip the MBA altogether and go for an MSF or nothing at all and recruit directly for boutique IB. I saw people do that successfully, but I would skip IB if I were you though. I just don’t think you even need to do it and you don’t have the right background for a happy long-term career in it. IB is bullshit anyway. You don’t want to do it. Just get into a top MBA since I never saw someone go from engineering to PE without an MBA and then recruit directly for PE